Friday, 28 June 2013

Reiki Precepts

This weeks blog will enable you to learn a little more about Reiki.

One of the fundamental factors of Reiki is the five precepts.  These are guidelines from the Reiki founder Usui Mikao. Although Reiki has no religious basis, many religious or spiritual practices have precepts.  A dictionary definition of a precept is “A precept (from the Latin: pr√¶cipere, to teach) is a commandment, instruction, or order intended as an authoritative rule of action.”

Mikao Usui, the founder of the Reiki lineage, referred to the Precepts as “the secret of inviting happiness through many blessings, the spiritual medicine for all illness” and included them in daily practice.  Understanding these precepts and that Reiki is primarily a personal spiritual growth tool, can aid self-healing and help us understand Reiki. 

The precepts are taught from Reiki 1 and should be recited morning and night.  However, reciting doesn’t help us fully understand these precepts.  I have spent several months meditating with these precepts, endeavouring to use them constantly in my day to day life.

·         Just for today, do not anger
·         Just for today, do not worry
·         Just for today, be grateful
·         Just for today, work hard
·         Just for today, be compassionate towards yourself and others

Please be aware when surfing the internet you may find slightly different versions due to translation but all have the same basic principle. 

In future blogs, I hope to work with each of these precepts and delve a little deeper.

As always, thanks for reading and if you have any questions or comments, I’d love to hear from you below.

Follow me on Twitter
Follow me on Facebook

Quick disclaimer; I am not a medical practitioner so therefore I’m not prescribing.  All of my blog posts are based on complementary therapies and not as a replacement for conventional medicine.  

No comments:

Post a Comment